Results: Local fire district elections


Votes for local fire district elections have been tallied after Islip Town residents voted on Tuesday, Dec. 14.  The candidate with the highest votes was elected fire commissioner. The candidate will remain in that position for a five-year term, commencing Jan. 1, 2022 and ending Dec. 31, 2026. The results are below.



In the Central Islip Fire District, incumbent Bob Sutton defeated Jim Sodergran. There were no propositions on the ballot.



In the Bay Shore Fire District, incumbent William F. Murray ran unopposed. There were no propositions.



In the East Islip Fire District, incumbent Tom Drywa ran unopposed. There were no propositions.



In the Islip Fire District, incumbent Michael Leo ran unopposed. There were no referendums or propositions on the ballot.



In the West Islip Fire District, incumbent Victor Paduano (217 votes) defeated Richard Marrone (172 votes). There was one resolution to vote on in the West Islip Fire District, which passed with 339 yes and 34 no. On Oct. 25, 2021, the Board of Fire Commissioners of the West Islip Fire District approved an amendment to the length of service award program which is administered by the fire district and established for active volunteer firefighters. The resolution extended the maximum years of service credit for which a participating active volunteer firefighter may earn a service award from 40 to 50 years, effective Jan. 1, 2022.

According to the resolution, the calendar year 2021 contribution for the program is approximately $470,000 which includes an average contribution for each participating volunteer firefighter that earns service credit of approximately $2,000. The annual contribution for the amended program will not increase as a result of the amendment and is therefore estimated to remain at $470,000. The average contribution per participating volunteer firefighter that earns service credit will also remain at approximately $2,000. The district pays additional annual administrative costs of approximately $9,000 which will not change as a result of this amendment


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here