All budgets pass

All budgets pass


On Tuesday, May 16, local residents cast their vote for the 2017-2018 school year budget for their district as well as trustee(s) on the board of education. The results are listed here.

Bay Shore

The budget proposition garnered 1407 yes votes to 427 voting no. There were two seats up on the board this year. Incumbents Guy Leggio and Louis Bettinelli won another term. Bettinelli received 988 votes and Leggio won with 1385.

Challengers were: Scott Berlin, 424; Michael Ruggiere, 298; and James Notaro, 292.

“I would like to thank the Bay Shore-Brightwaters community for their overwhelming support of the budget,” said Superintendent Joseph Bond.  “The fact that the budget passed by a margin of 77 percent, one of the largest our district has seen, shows that our community stands behind the policies and programs that help our students become the leaders of tomorrow.  We look forward to another year of great success and achievement.”


The budget passed with residents casting 988 yes votes to 372 no votes.

The board of education, incumbent trustee Philip Dineen, running unopposed, was reelected, winning 952 votes.

In the race for the trustee seat of incumbent David Twomey, challenger Kelly Vallette was the victor, earning 647 votes to Twomey’s 565.

East Islip

The East Islip School District’s 2017-2018 budget passed with 1,851 yes votes outweighing the 722 no votes.

For East Islip’s five-person board of education, voters reelected two incumbents: board president Christopher Zachry (1,029 votes) and vice president William Carpluk (1,137 votes), both running unopposed.

West Islip

The West Islip School District budget passed with residents casting 1,531 yes votes to 428 no votes.  

In the race for two trustee seats, voters reelected incumbent Ronald Maginniss, with 1,250 votes, and Paul Michaluk, with 1,026. Challenger Catherine Artusa received 1,000 votes.

~ Compiled by Liz Finnegan